The mission of the Newseum Institute is to champion the five freedoms of the First Amendment through education, information and entertainment. The Newseum Institute serves as a forum for First Amendment study, exploration and education. The Newseum is a 501(c)(3) public charity funded by generous individuals, corporations and foundations, including the Freedom Forum. Programs of the Newseum Institute include the First Amendment Center, The Al Neuharth Free Spirit and Journalism Conference, the Religious Freedom Center, the annual Moot Court Competition, the Chips Quinn Scholars program and Freedom Sings.


Peter S. Prichard
Chief executive officer/Newseum Institute
Chief executive officer and chair/Newseum

Gene Policinski
Chief operating officer/Newseum Institute
Senior vice president/First Amendment Center

James W. Abbott
President, University of South Dakota

Pam Galloway-Tabb
Senior vice president/conferences and special services, Newseum

Nicole F. Mandeville
Senior vice president/finance and treasurer, Newseum

Ken Paulson
President/First Amendment Center
Dean, College of Mass Communication, Middle Tennessee State University

Courtney L. Surls
Senior vice president/development, Newseum

Scott Williams
Senior vice president/marketing, Newseum

Board of Trustees

James W. Abbott
Vermillion, S.D.
Chairman/Newseum Institute

James C. Duff
Bethesda, Md.

Todd Bradley
San Francisco, Calif.

Michael Coleman
Cocoa Beach, Fla.
Newspaper management consultant and former chairman, Cape Publications

Felix F. Gutierrez
Los Angeles, Calif.
Professor of journalism, University of Southern California’s Annenberg School for Communication

Leslie Hill
Chevy Chase, Md.
Former director, Dow Jones and Co.; former American Airlines captain

Charlene Drew Jarvis
Washington, D.C.

Malcolm R. Kirschenbaum
Cocoa Beach, Fla.
Lawyer and civic leader

Michael Maness
Miami, Fla.
Vice president/Journalism and New Media, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation

H. Wilbert Norton Jr.
Oxford, Miss.
Dean, Meek School of Journalism and New Media, University of Mississippi

Peter S. Prichard
Essex, Conn.
Chief executive officer and chair/Newseum; chief executive officer/Newseum Institute

Orage Quarles III
Raleigh, N.C.
President and publisher, The News & Observer

Gary L. Sisco
Franklin, Tenn.
President, Sisco Group

Mark N. Trahant
Pocatello, Idaho

Nicholas Zeppos
Nashville, Tenn.
Chancellor, Vanderbilt University

Trustees Emeritus

Michael G. Gartner
Principal owner, Iowa Cubs baseball team, and former president, NBC News

Madelyn P. Jennings
Former senior vice president/personnel, Gannett Co.

Robert C. Khayat
Chancellor emeritus, University of Mississippi

Bette Bao Lord

Charles L. Overby
Former chairman and chief executive officer; former newspaper editor and former vice president/news, Gannett Co.

Founder, Chips Quinn Scholars Program

John C. Quinn